BIRDS HOUSE: Three O’s on table for league MVP

Written by on November 21, 2012 in Orioles, Sports - No comments

The votes are in, and the 2012 American League MVP is Mike…Wait, what? It’s not Mike Trout? You serious? Hmm. So, it turns out the 2012 AL MVP is Miguel Cabrera, and the voting wasn’t really that close.

Now don’t get me wrong, Cabrera had an amazing season. He won the Triple Crown, the first person to do so since Boston’s Carl Yastrzemski won it in 1967. He helped his Detroit Tigers get into the World Series before falling to the San Francisco Giants. But for him to get 22 first-place votes to Trout’s six, something is wrong there.

Cabrera hit .330 with 44 home runs and 139 runs batted in. His on-base percentage was.393 and he scored 109 runs. Trout hit .326 with 30 home runs and 83 runs batted in, all lower than Cabrera, but his .399 on-base percentage, 49 steals, and 129 runs bested Miggy.

Another note I found odd was that Raul Ibanez from the New York Yankees received a 10th place vote. Someone actually thought enough of him to mention his name on the ballot. The guy hit .240 with 19 home runs and 62 RBI and only had 384 at bats. If Ibanez gets MVP consideration, then so should I for hitting .825 while playing for the Levittown Reds softball team. These voters need to get their act together.

If the voting was closer, maybe I wouldn’t have such a problem, but with such a huge disparity in first place votes, it felt like voters became too enamored by the Triple Crown and forget that Trout also had a much better WAR (10.7 to Cabrera’s 6.9).

Ok, so enough of my whining.  The good news is that three Orioles were named on the ballot:  Adam Jones, Jim Johnson, and Matt Wieters.  Jones finished sixth overall with 120 vote points while Johnson was 14th with 22 vote points, and Wieters 21st with four vote points.

Jones definitely had himself an amazing season, and it was great to see him get some recognition from voters. Both Jones and Johnson received a third place vote each.

The last Oriole to win the AL MVP was Cal Ripken Jr., who won the award in 1991 and previously in 1983. Other O’s to win MVP were Boog Powell in 1970, Frank Robinson in 1966, and Brooks Robinson in 1964.

Having three Orioles show up on the MVP vote is definitely a good sign for things to come.

by Andy Mindzak

Leave a Comment