Flu shot clinics being offered around the city

Written by on September 14, 2011 in Community Bulletin, Neighborhood News - No comments

Roll up your sleeve and take a deep breath. Fall is here, and that means flu shots.

Fall is flu shot season. Shots are available through various civic organizations, as well as through the Baltimore Health Department, and many drug stores.

In previous flu seasons, the H1N1strain of flu was a big fear; however, this year, say Baltimore Health Department officials, the flu shot individuals will receive will be a combination vaccine which will also guard against H1N1 as well as other flu strains.

Note: medicare part B will pay for the vaccine, but recipients must bring their Medicare card.

The drive to fell the flu kicks off on Wednesday, Sept. 29 at “Take a Loved One to the Doctor Day,” which runs from 10 a.m.-3 p.m. at the University of Maryland, 22 S. Greene Street. After that, the schedule continues with flu vaccine clinics as follows:

Wednesday, Oct. 6, 2 p.m.-6:30 p.m., UniversityCare at Edmondson Village, 4538 Edmondson Avenue.

Thursday, Oct. 7, 4 p.m.-7 p.m. , St. Patrick’s Hall, 1728 Bank Street.
Friday, Oct. 8, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., Enoch Pratt Free Library, 400 Cathedral Street. (Also on Friday, Nov. 12, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.).

Tuesday, Oct. 12, 11 a.m.-4 p.m., Cherry Hill Senior Center, 606 Cherry Hill Road.

Thursday, Oct. 14, 2 p.m.-6 p.m., Zeta Senior Center, 4501 Reisterstown Road.

Friday, Oct. 15, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., Waxter Senior Center, 1000 Cathedral Street. (Also on Friday, Dec. 3, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.).

Saturday, Oct. 16, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., Bethel AME Church, 1300 Druid Hill Avenue.

Tuesday, Oct. 19, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., Forest Park Senior Center, 4801 Liberty Hieghts Avenue.

Thursday, Oct. 21, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., Lexington Market, 400 W. Lexington Street.

Saturday, Oct. 23, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., First Corinthian Church, 3512 Powhatan Avenue.

Tuesday, Oct. 26, 11 a.m.-5 p.m., Weinberg Y of Central Maryland, 900 E. 33rd Street.

Friday, Oct. 29, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., Hippodrome Theater, 12 N. Eutaw Street.
Tuesday, Nov. 2, 8 a.m.-noon, Hatton Senior Center, 2825 Fait Avenue.
Tuesday, Nov. 16, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., John Booth Senior Center, 229-1/2 S. Eaton Street.

Children’s TIKE Van: The Baltimore Health Department also offers free children’s vaccines through its TIKE van, which visits various locations throughout the city. For information, go to http://www.baltimorehealth.org/info/tike-september-2011.pdf or call 410-396-4454.

BethSteel Retirees: An additional flu clinic is being held independently of the Baltimore Health Department. Retirees of United Local 9477 at BethSteel have flu shots for retirees and spouses, widows and widowers at local 9477 Hall, 550 Dundalk Ave. on Monday, Sept. 19 and Tuesday, Sept. 27, 10 a.m.-2 p.m. Medicare and insurance info required. Info: Don Kellner 410-227-8462, dbkellner@comcast.net.

Leave a Comment