News for Seniors: May 18

Written by on May 18, 2011 in For Seniors - No comments

John Booth Senior Center – 229-1/2 S. Eaton Street, Highlandtown, 410-396-9202
Wednesday, May 18, Members meeting at 1 p.m.

Wednesday, May 25, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., 10th annual Senior Health and Fitness Day, to be held in Patterson Park.

Monday, June 1: Sunshine luncheon, 11:30 a.m. We honor our current members 85 plus with a reduced price catered luncheon with music. Time: Cost to members 85 plus is $4, cost to current members is $8.00, non-members $12. Reservations required with payment by May 25.

Wednesday, June 8: Eating Together In Baltimore crab feast. Cost to Eating Together members is $13, non-eating together members is $19. Menu:  Soup/crackers, Barbecue chicken, cole slaw, macaroni salad, corn bread, watermelon, milk and guaranteed six crabs. Make reservations with payment by June 1.

Thursday, June 9: Health & Welfare Day, blood pressure check 10 a.m. Podiatrist 10:30 a.m.-noon.
Wednesday, June 15: Members meeting at 1 p.m.

Wednesday, June 22: Fish fry — Chef Greg from the Eating Together in Baltimore Program will be at the center to fry our fish. Cost:  $6 members; $9 non-members includes lunch of fried fish, vegetables/salads, desert, coffee or tea. Make reservations with payment by June 15.

Wednesday, June 29: Strawberry/Blueberry Fest., 12:15 p.m. This year, our annual event will this year feature strawberry and blueberry goodies:  Fruit pizza, sundaes and more. Cost:  $4 members; $7 non-members. Sign up with payment by June 22.

Monday, July 4: Center closed for the holiday.

The Hatton Senior Center – Fait and Linwood avenues, Canton, 410-396-9025
Monday, May 30: the Hatton Center will be closed for Memorial Day.

Wednesday, June 1 the Hatton book club will discuss Ask Again Later by Jill A. Davis.

Wednesday, June 8 is Health and Fitness at 10:00 Speaker to be announced. Wednesday, June 15 from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. is “Legal Assistance” (by appointment). Lunch is at 11:30 a.m.

Wednesday, June 22, there is blood pressure check is 12:15, General Information meeting at 1:00 Speaker to be announced.

Thursday June 2, 9,16, 23, 30, there is exercise at 9 a.m., aerobics at 10:30 a.m., lunch at 11:30 a.m., and Tai’ Chi at 12:15 p.m.

Friday June 3, 10, 17 and 24, there is art class at 10 a.m., bus to Wal-Mart at 10 a.m. and bingo at 12:30 p.m.

Monday June 6, 13, 20 and 27, there is exercise at 9 a.m. and card playing at 10:30 a.m., and Eating Together at 11:30 a.m. Massages will be given by appointment on June 6 and 20 starting at 10 a.m. Monday, June 20: Red Hatters meet at 11:00.

Tuesday June 7, 14, 21 and 28: Wii at 9 a.m., Eating Together at 11:30 a.m., Spanish Class at 1:15 p.m. and yoga at 5 p.m.

Tuesday, June 21, House council meeting is at 12:15 p.m.

Allen Center for Senior Citizens – 1404 S. Charles Street, South Baltimore, 410-685-6224
Information was not received by time of publication; please call the center for news of schedules, trips, activities and more.

Leave a Comment